It takes one dead winter to bring Spring back to life.

Haruki Murakami in his novel “Norwegian Wood” said, Death exists, not as an opposite but as a part of lifeMurakami’s quote was the first thing that came to my mind when I saw “Spring Day”.

BTS aka Bangtan Boys since the beginning have tried to depict the problems in a South Korean teen’s life (the problem with the authority, with the education system, with wrong company and others). But with each passing video, the depiction has internalized and gone more private.

In their recent videos, the theme has transitioned from social to personal. The transition became clearly evident in their album “Wings” where the discourse initiated was on adolescence, personal development and fame.

bts-st

“Spring Day” from You Will Never Walk Alone is a step ahead. The song is a contemplation on the death of good memory with the culmination of the lives of people who constitute it. The death here is not literal. To me, it does not seem to be literal. It’s actually metaphorical; the emphasis is on “What if”.

If you read the lyrics, the song seems to narrate a story of friends who have been separated and are now waiting for that moment when they could get back together again. But if you watch the video, a whole new narrative is being depicted.

A feeling of distance lurks in throughout the song. As V kneels down on track to hear the sound of the coming train, Jungkook is lost in thoughts and trying to visualize the time when they all had been together and happy. Everyone is apart and waiting for a moment when they can get back together again.

There is a possibility but is there a chance of reconciliation?

v-bts

In the beginning, I mentioned that the song portrays a metaphorical death because as the single reaches its culmination, Jungkook is seen coming back to reality. He is anxious and the anxiety comes from anticipation of an end. The end does not have to be the death of a person, it can be a death of a friendship.

As Jungkook looks out of the window, he is thinking about the happier times of the group. Even now when the group is together within a coach, he seems to be rethinking their relationship with each other.

Did you change?

(Did you change?)
 Or did I change?

 (Did I change?)

 I hate even this moment that is passing

 I guess we changed

 I guess that’s how everything is

He cannot lose it (his friends and the friendship) but a fear lingers in the coach. What if he really loses it?

Throughout the video, people are being missed and memories make their way through photos. In the first half of the video, Jin and V can be seen capturing the photos of the group. If they separate, the photo will turn into an instrument they will use to recall each other.

When I say that, I miss you more
I’m looking at your photo
But I still miss you

v-bts1

A circumstance is being presented. As they feel distant, the boys desperately miss each other. But anger succeeds the absence and one can sense an air of resentment. Boys want to “erase” each other’s memories as it is better than hurting themselves.

But the question is if they all are together, is the distance a fear “settling in their heart” or a real event?

As Jimin and Jin sing along, everyone is waiting for the monotonous winter to end. Now, the winter can be both the season or a symbol of a rough patch. Friendships do not always go through a frictionless path. Instead, a lot of hurdles come and those who stick during the worst only turn out to be the best friends. So, as the song reach its end, boys pray for Spring, a season when their bond can blossom again. There is an urge to create a new ending, a desperation to do it right. They don’t want to repeat the same ending that we saw in Run.

How much more do I have to wait?
How many more nights do I have to stay up?
Until I can see you? (until I can see you?)
Until I can meet you? (until I can meet you?

Past the end of this cold winter
Until the spring comes again
Until the flowers bloom again
Stay there a little longer
Stay there

I am yet to understand the idea behind the laundry hill. Probably, it’s nothing. I don’t know why but I see a context in there. It is out of the laundry house that happy Jungkook makes a blink of an eye contact with his anxious self, the same anxiety that he felt for a split second when he could not find anyone in the laundry house. As he comes back to reality, he is happy to find his mates with him.

bts-jungkook

bts-jungkook-2

At different points in the video, everyone is going through the same pain and dilemma. But unlike Run and Butterfly, there is a will to reconcile. The song ends with a hope that soon they all will be able to relive their happy moments.

As they reach the clear ground, Jimin leaves their token of friendship on a tree. As we know that tree is the symbol of life so, no matter how many winters comes by, the tree will not forget to nurture life and blossom again.

You know it all
You’re my best friend
The morning will come again
Because no darkness,
No season
Can last forever

Cherry blossoms are blooming
The winter is ending
I miss you (I miss you)
I miss you (I miss you)
If I wait a little longer (if I wait)
If I stay up a few more nights
I’ll go see you (I’ll go see you)
I’ll go pick you up (I’ll go pick you up)

Past the end of this cold winter
Until the spring comes again
Until the flowers bloom again
Stay there a little longer
Stay there

Leaving the shoes on a tree ends the song on a positive note.

shoes

In short, the song is like a dream where we come in direct contact with death but are pulled back to life again. The contact might be a few seconds but it does send a chill down our spine.

For some time, BTS have been making upbeat music. The kind of music you can shake your leg on, jump till your strength wavers and feel happy till the tune reach the last note. It was only in Wings that their music took a bit of a calmer tone. Now, there is a balance of tune in their albums. If someone loves their dance singles, they have got it and if someone loves their lyrical ballads, they need not be disappointed. There is an abundance of both and that’s what makes their music worth consuming.

This is just my interpretation. What do you think about the song? Do tell me in the comments. 🙂

